Newark Officials

Newark Officials

 
 

Officials Representing The Citizens Of Newark
37101 Newark Boulevard
Newark, CA 94560
Ph: (510) 578-4000
City Website

Newark City Council

The Mayor presides over the City Council meetings,
which are held on the second and fourth Thursday of each month.
City Council meetings begin at 7:30 p.m.
in the City Council Chamber, 37101 Newark Boulevard.
Live meetings are televised on local Cable Channel 26.

City Council Website

 
TITLE NAME EMAIL TERM
ENDS
Mayor
Alan L. Nagy al.nagy@newark.org 2020
Council Member
Michael K. Hannon mike.hannon@newark.org 2022
Council Member
Luis L. Freitas city.council@newark.org 2020
Vice Mayor
Maria "Sucy" Collazo city.council@newark.org 2020
Council Member
Mike Bucci mike.bucci@newark.org 2022

Newark City Officials and Department Heads

 

DEPARTMENT NAME EMAIL PHONE/FAX
City Attorney
Kristopher Kokotaylo, Esq. city.attorney@newark.org (510) 578-4428
(510) 578-4306

City Manager's Office
David J. Benoun, City Manager city.manager@newark.org
(510) 578-4306
Commissions & Committees
  City.Clerk@newark.org  
Community Development
Terrence Grindall, Director *
(510) 578-4265
Finance   finance@newark.org
(510) 578-4358
Fire Department
David Rocha, Fire Chief  510-578-4480 *
(510) 578-4281
Human Resources
Sandy Abe, Director HR@newark.org
(510) 578-4259
Police
 Mike Carrol, Police Chief *  510-578-4220
Public Works
Soren Fajeau, Director public.works@newark.org
(510) 578-4243
Recreation & Community Services
David Zehnder, Director *  

 

Newark Planning Commission

The Planning Commission reviews and takes action on certain planning applications and makes recommendations to the City Council on land use issues. The Planning Commission meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month. Planning Commission meetings are held at 7:30 p.m. in the City Administration Building, 37101 Newark Boulevard, 6th Floor, Newark.

TITLE NAME TERM
ENDS
Commissioner Bernie Nillo 2021
Chairperson William Fitts 2019
Commissioner Karen Bridges 2020
Commissioner Debbie Otterstetter 2019
Vice Chair Jeff Aguilar 2022

 

 

 

Newark Unified School District 

5715 Musick Ave,
Newark 94560
Ph: (510) 818-4103 Fax: (510) 794-2199
Superintendent Patrick Sanchez   (510) 818-4112
Executive Assistant Charlene Aquino Ph:(510) 818-4112
Board of Education Meets Tuesday according to posted schedule
7:00 p.m. in the district office, 5715 Musick Ave.

 
Board of Education
TITLE NAME EMAIL TERM
ENDS
Board Member Bowen Zhang bzhang@newarkunified.org 2020
President Ray J. Rodriguez rrodriguez@newarkunified.org 2020
Board Member Elisa Martinez emartinez@newarkunified.org 2022
Clerk Nancy Thomas nthomas@newarkunified.org 2022
Board Member Lucia Gutierrez lgutierrez@newarkunified.org 2020