About the League

The League of Women Voters of the City of New York is a non-partisan organization whose purpose is to promote informed and active citizen participation in government. We are committed to empowering citizens with the meaningful information needed to make sound decisions for our democracy.

Founded in 1919, the League of Women Voters was an offshoot of the Women’s Suffrage movement. While the League's legislative priorities change to reflect the needs of society, our organization remains true to its basic purpose: to make democracy work for all citizens. Membership is open to all women and men who support its causes. The League is supported by membership dues and contributions from public-spirited individuals, businesses and organizations.

The League's enduring vitality comes from its unique decentralized structure; working at the national, state, and local levels.

In New York City, the League provides:

  • Telephone Information Services: answering questions about city, state and national government, from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday - Friday.
  • Educational publications, including: What Makes New York City Run?, a citizen’s guide to New York City government. They Represent You, an annually updated directory of city, state and federal legislators who represent New York residents.
  • Candidate debates that inform and stimulate: The League and WABC, for example, were selected by the Campaign Finance Board to conduct the official televised candidate debates for the Mayoral, Comptroller and Public Advocate races during the municipal elections in 2001, 2005 and 2009.
  • Speakers on the political process and public issues and moderators for candidate forums.
  • Helpful tools to contact your elected officials including the website mygovnyc.org in partnership with the CUNY Graduate Center and the Voices App in partnership with co-founder John Bogil.

Online League Resources:

If you've wandered onto our site from outside of New York City, find your local League here.

Our Board


Co-President  Cathy T. Gray
Co-President  Ruth S. Altman
Vice President Crystal Joseph 
Vice President Diane Burrows 
Secretary Edna Rosen 
Treasurer  Jane E. Colvin 

Board of Directors 

Voter & Information Services Barbara Ettington
Special Projects Coordinator Laura Altschuler
Elections Specialist Kate Doran
Honorary Emeritus Board Member Nicky Heller
Hospitality/Students Inside Albany Sheila Hosni  
Membership/Education  Mary Jenkins
Director of National Liaison  Gladys Krasner
They Represent You  Tiana Leonard
Education  Nancy Schwartz
Environmental Action  Mary Anne Sullivan
Program  Joanna Leefer
Director of Community Relations  Doris J. Welch

Tax Forms