About the League

About the League

The League of Women Voters of the City of New York is a non-partisan organization whose purpose is to promote informed and active citizen participation in government. We are committed to empowering citizens with the meaningful information needed to make sound decisions for our democracy.

Founded in 1919, the League of Women Voters of the City of New York was an offshoot of the Women’s Suffrage movement. While the League's legislative priorities change to reflect the needs of society, our organization remains true to its basic purpose: to make democracy work for all citizens. Membership is open to all people who support our causes. The League is supported by membership dues and contributions from public-spirited individuals, businesses and organizations.

The League's enduring vitality comes from its unique decentralized structure; working at the national, state, and local levels.

In New York City, the League provides:

  • Telephone Information Services: answering questions about city, state and national government, from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday - Friday.
  • Educational publications, including: What Makes New York City Run?, a citizen’s guide to New York City government, and They Represent You, an annually updated directory of city, state and federal legislators who represent New York residents.
  • Candidate debates that inform and stimulate: The League and WABC, for example, were selected by the Campaign Finance Board to conduct the official televised candidate debates for the Mayoral, Comptroller and Public Advocate races during the municipal elections in 2001, 2005 and 2009.
  • Speakers on the political process and public issues and moderators for candidate forums.
  • Helpful tools to contact your elected officials, such as the website Who Represents Me, maintained in partnership with the CUNY Graduate Center.

Online League Resources:

If you've wandered onto our site from outside of New York City, find your local League here.

Our Board


Co-President    Diane Burrows
Co-President    Lesley Sigall
Vice President of Communications   Crystal Joseph
Vice President of Development   Susie Gomes
Vice President of Membership   Ashmi Sheth
Vice President of Technology   Shelly Warwick
Secretary   Amy Matthews
Treasurer    Jessica Weinberg 

Board of Directors 

Board Director   Barbara Ettington
Board Director   Cathy Gray
Board Director   Patricia Manning
Board Director    Dorothy Ouzidane
Board Director   Laura Quigg
Board Director   Kai Rosenthal
Board Director   Bella Wang


Advisory Board

Advisory Board Judi Allen 
Advisory Board Barbara Biben 
Advisory Board James Cotins 
Advisory Board Jay Hershenson
Advisory Board Richard Leibner 
Advisory Board Debra O'Connell
Advisory Board Malva Rabinowitz 
Advisory Board Alair Townsend
Advisory Board Kathryn Wylde
Advisory Board Linda Zango-Haley