VOTING INFORMATION

* * * * *

Virginia has elections every year. The Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and Attorney General are elected every four years (including in 2025). Virginia's legislative body, the General Assembly, is divided into two chambers: the House of Delegates and the Senate. Delegates are elected for two-year terms (including in 2025) and senators for four-year terms (next in 2027).

VOTER REGISTRATION

All citizens must be registered within Montgomery County before voting. You may register at the Office of Elections at 1546 N. Franklin St., Christiansburg or at the Division of Motor Vehicles, 385 Arbor Dr., Christiansburg. Or go to elections.virginia.gov and complete the voter registration application online or ask for a form to register by mail. If you miss the registration deadline, you may still vote with a provisional ballot.

REQUIREMENTS TO REGISTER

You must be a citizen of the United States, a resident of Virginia, at least 18 years old by the time of the election, and not be a convicted felon (unless the governor has restored your voting rights). There are no fees to register to vote, and voters do not declare a party affiliation. If you change your name or address, you must notify the Registrar so that your name is placed in the proper precinct/polling book.

VOTER NOTICE

After you register, the local Registrar will send you a voter notice that identifies your polling place and your Congressional and General Assembly districts.

HOW TO

REGISTER TO VOTE / UPDATE YOUR ADDRESS

Online: Citizen Portal (link below)
In-Person: Office of Elections, DMV

VOTE EARLY IN PERSON

Office of Elections (address below)

VOTE BY MAIL

Office of Elections (address below)
Citizen Portal (link below)

VOTE ON ELECTION DAY

Find your precinct on your voter notice or at Citizen Portal. Curbside voting is available during early voting and on Election Day for people with disabilities or health risks.

VOTER ID

See a list of acceptable IDs at elections.virginia.gov/registration/voterid

CANDIDATES

WHO ARE THEY?

elections.virginia.gov/casting-a-ballot/candidate-list

INFO ON CANDIDATES

Vote411.org

RESOURCES

MONTGOMERY COUNTY OFFICE OF ELECTIONS

Registrar: Connie Viar 1546 N Franklin St., Christiansburg, VA 24073 montva.com/vote 540-382-5741 govote121@montgomerycountyva.gov

CITIZEN PORTAL

vote.elections.virginia.gov













2025 VOTER Guide

MONTGOMERY COUNTY, VA



JUNE 17, 2025 STATE PRIMARY

Register by May 27 Early Voting May 2 - June 14

NOVEMBER 4, 2025 GENERAL ELECTION

Register by October 14
Early Voting September 19 - November 1

ON THE BALLOT

VIRGINIA

Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, House of Delegates (41 & 42).

MONTGOMERY COUNTY

Board of Supervisors, School Board (A, C, D)

BLACKSBURG & CHRISTIANSBURG

Mayor, Town Council (3 seats)

Candidate Forums will be held in September and October. Look for a schedule at lwvmcva.org.

NATIONAL

EXECUTIVE

PRESIDENT: Donald J. Trump (R) **VICE PRESIDENT: JD Vance (R)** comments@whitehouse.gov

U.S. SENATE

Tim Kaine (D)

kaine.senate.gov, 202-224-4024

Mark R. Warner (D) warner.senate.gov, 202-224-2023

U.S. CONGRESS, 9TH DISTRICT

Morgan Griffith (R)

MorganGriffith.house.gov, 202-225-3861



To email US senators and representatives, use the contact forms on their websites.

STATE

EXECUTIVE

GOVERNOR: Glenn Youngkin (R) governor.virginia.gov, 804-786-2211

LT. GOVERNOR: Winsome Earle-Sears (R) Itgov.virginia.gov, 804-786-2078

ATTORNEY GENERAL: Jason Miyares (R) oag.state.va.us, 804-786-2071

VIRGINIA SENATE

DISTRICT 4: David R. Suetterlein (R) senatorsuetterlein@senate.virginia.gov, 540-302-8486, 804-698-7504

DISTRICT 5: Travis Hackworth (R) senatorhackworth@senate.virginia.gov, 276-345-9112, 804-698-7505

VIRGINIA HOUSE OF DELEGATES

DISTRICT 41: Chris Obenshain (R) DelCObenshain@house.virginia.gov, 804-647-0372, 804-698-1041

DISTRICT 42: Jason Ballard (R) DelJBallard@house.virginia.gov, 540-787-5011, 804-698-1042

Q What's My District?

STATE: vote.elections.virginia.gov COUNTY: tinyurl.com/maps-districts-mcva

Montgomery County, VA

ELECTED OFFICIALS

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

The board of supervisors meets second and fourth Mondays at 7:15 pm.

DISTRICT A: Sara R. Bohn (2025) bohnsr@montgomerycountyva.gov

DISTRICT B: Derek W. Kitts (2027) kittsdw@montgomerycountyva.gov

DISTRICT C: Steve R. Fijalkowski, Vice Chair (2025) fijalkowskisr@montgomerycountyva.gov

DISTRICT D: M. Todd King (2025) kingmt@montgomerycountyva.gov

DISTRICT E: Anthony M. Grafsky (2027) grafskyam@montgomerycountyva.gov

DISTRICT F: Mary W. Biggs (2027) biggsmw@montgomerycountyva.gov

DISTRICT G: April N. DeMotts, Chair (2027) demottsan@montgomerycountyva.gov

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS AND SCHOOL BOARD **MEET AT**

County Government Center 755 Roanoke St. Christiansburg, VA 24073 montva.com



This brochure was prepared as a public service by the League of Women Voters of Montgomery County VA, a nonpartisan organization that encourages informed and active participation in government.

THIS PUBLICATION SPONSORED BY

MONTGOMERY COUNTY, VA TOWN OF BLACKSBURG NATIONAL BANK OF BLACKSBURG **NRCONTRACTING** MARY ANN JOHNSON

PUBLIC SCHOOLS

SUPERINTENDENT: Bernard F. Bragen, Jr. berniebragen@mcps.org, 382-5100 x1002

The Montgomery County school district includes Blacksburg and Christiansburg. The school board meets first and third Tuesdays at 7:00 pm.

SCHOOL BOARD

DISTRICT A: Linwood Hudson, Chair (2025) linwoodhudson@mcps.org

DISTRICT B: Penny Franklin (2027) pfranklin@mcps.org

DISTRICT C: Dana Partin (2025) danapartin@mcps.org

DISTRICT D: Jamie Bond (2025)

jbond@mcps.org

DISTRICT E: Derek Rountree (2027) derekrountree@mcps.org

DISTRICT F: Laura Purcell, Vice Chair (2027) lpurcell@mcps.org

DISTRICT G: Edward Gitre (2027) edgitre@mcps.org

TOWN OF BLACKSBURG

MAYOR: Leslie Hager-Smith lhagersmith@blacksburg.gov

Town Council meets second and fourth Tuesdays, 6:30 pm, Blacksburg Municipal Building, 300 S. Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060, open to the public.

TOWN OF CHRISTIANSBURG

MAYOR: Michael Barber mbarber@christiansburg.org

Town Council meets second and fourth Tuesdays, 7 pm, Council Chambers of Town Hall, 100 E. Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073, open to the public.



Working for Democracy in the New River Valley of Virginia

LWVMCVA.ORG • PO BOX 10133, BLACKSBURG VA 24062