2023 CANDIDATE FORUMS

* * * * *

THURSDAYS AT 7PM

AUGUST 24 HOUSE OF DELEGATES DISTRICTS 41 AND 42; SENATE DISTRICTS 4 AND 5 (DEMOCRATS)

Asbury United Methodist Church 500 Stuart Street, Christiansburg, VA

AUGUST 31

HOUSE OF DELEGATES DISTRICTS 41 AND 42; SENATE DISTRICTS 4 AND 5 (REPUBLICANS)

Asbury United Methodist Church 500 Stuart Street, Christiansburg, VA

SEPTEMBER 7 MONTGOMERY COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD

Montgomery County Government Building 755 Roanoke St., Christiansburg, VA

SEPTEMBER 14

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Montgomery County Government Building 755 Roanoke St., Christiansburg, VA

SEPTEMBER 21

MONTGOMERY COUNTY CLERK OF COURT, TREASURER, COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE

Montgomery County Government Building 755 Roanoke St., Christiansburg, VA

SEPTEMBER 28

MONTGOMERY COUNTY COMMONWEALTH'S ATTORNEY, SHERIFF

Montgomery County Government Building 755 Roanoke St., Christiansburg, VA

OCTOBER 5

BLACKSBURG TOWN COUNCIL Blacksburg Council Chamber 300 South Main St., Blacksburg, VA

OCTOBER 12 CHRISTIANSBURG TOWN COUNCIL Christiansburg Council Chamber 100 East Main St., Christiansburg, VA

REGISTER TO VOTE / UPDATE YOUR ADDRESS

DEADLINE OCTOBER 16 Go to Montgomery County Office of Elections or to vote.virginia.gov.

VOTE EARLY IN PERSON

SEPTEMBER 22 - NOVEMBER 4

Office of Elections, 1546 N. Franklin St., Christiansburg, VA 8:30 am–5 pm Monday-Friday Saturdays, Oct 28 & Nov 4, 9 am–5 pm

VOTE BY MAIL

DEADLINE FOR APPLYING OCTOBER 27, 5 PM

Apply for a mail ballot at vote.virginia.gov or at the Office of Elections, 1546 N. Franklin St., Christiansburg, VA.

MAILING DEADLINES

Mail your ballot in the postage-paid envelope postmarked by **November 7** to be received by November 10. Or take your ballot to the Office of Elections by November 7.

Candidate Forums Co-Hosted with NAACP Montgomery Co-Radford City-Floyd Co Branch



LEARN MORE ABOUT THE OFFICES AND RACES DOWNLOAD THIS FLYER AT LWVMCVA.ORG.

FIND CANDIDATE INFORMATION AT VOTE411.ORG



ELECTION INFORMATION YOU NEED

REGISTER TO VOTE, FIND YOUR POLLING PLACE, APPLY TO VOTE BY MAIL AT VOTE.VIRGINIA.GOV





Montgomery County, VA CANDIDATE GUIDE

 \star \star \star \star \star

NOVEMBER 7, 2023 GENERAL ELECTION

REGISTER TO VOTE DEADLINE OCTOBER 16

EARLY IN-PERSON VOTING SEPTEMBER 22-NOVEMBER 4

> MAIL-IN VOTING APPLY BY OCTOBER 27 MAIL YOUR BALLOT BY NOVEMBER 7

November 7, 2023

This November, we will have *all* **140 seats** of the General Assembly on our ballot. Additionally, five Montgomery County Constitutional Officers, Districts B, E, F, G Board of Supervisors and School Board, as well as Blacksburg Town Council and Christiansburg Town Council seats are on the ballot.

As a result of redistricting, Montgomery County now has two Senate Districts (4 and 5) and two House Districts (41 and 42). Voting precincts have changed as well.

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE OFFICES AND RACES AT LWVMCVA.ORG.

What's My District?

Q tinyurl.com/maps-districts-mcva

Click the magnifying glass icon, enter your address, and use the tabs to view map layers to find your state and local districts, and voting location.



Citizen Portal

Register to vote, find your polling place, apply to vote by mail, and more at vote.virginia.gov.



* VIRGINIA * DEPARTMENT *of* ELECTIONS

Montgomery County, VA CANDIDATES & RACES

STATE

VIRGINIA SENATE

DISTRICT 4 David R. Suetterlein (R) Trish White-Boyd (D) DISTRICT 5 Robert Beckman (D) Travis Hackworth (R) DISTRICT 7 Deborah I. "Rennie" Gates (D) William M. "Bill" Stanley, Jr. (R)

VIRGINIA HOUSE OF DELEGATES

DISTRICT 41 Lily Franklin (D) Chris Obenshain (R)

DISTRICT 42 Jason Ballard (R)

MONTGOMERY COUNTY CONSTITUTIONAL OFFICERS

CLERK OF COURT Tiffany Couch (D) Nicholas Cody Rush (R) COMMONWEALTH'S ATTORNEY

Mary K. Pettitt (R)

SHERIFF

C.H. "Hank" Partin (R) COMMISSIONER OF THE REVENUE

Tara Cochran Vance (R) Brenda E. Winkle (D)

TREASURER Mary M. Weaver (R)

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

DISTRICT B Meredith M. Hutton (R) Derek W. Kitts (D)

DISTRICT E

Anthony M. Grafsky (D) Darrell O. Sheppard (R)

DISTRICT F Mary W. Biggs (D)

DISTRICT G April Noelle DeMotts (D) David E. Shelor Jr. (I)

SCHOOL BOARD

DISTRICT B Penny Franklin Mark L. Miear

DISTRICT E Lindsay J. Rich S. Derek Rountree

DISTRICT F Laura S. Purcell

DISTRICT G Edward J.K. Gitre Jason Edward Massie

SOIL AND WATER, SKYLINE DISTRICT (2 SEATS) Richard F. "Rick" Wall (I)

TOWN COUNCILS

BLACKSBURG (3 SEATS)

Jerry R. Ford, Jr. Michael D. Sutphin

CHRISTIANSBURG (3 SEATS)

Jeff W. Akers Samuel M. Bishop III Kim A. Bowman Wendy Glass Johana Hicks Steve H. Huppert Mike O. Scarry





Visit vote411.org for candidate information.

INFORMATION COMPILED BY

