## La Verne City Council

League of Women Voters of the Claremont Area Observer Report

By Observer Gwen Carr

May 11, 2017

The Brown Act is followed, with Council members and staff attending regularly. They appear to be prepared for the agenda. The assigned Daily Bulletin news reporter retired last November, so there is no news reporter now. The Council meetings are routine with presentations and / or promotions to police, fire personnel, the La Verne military, or other members of the community. Supporters of these groups usually fill the chamber.

In November 2016, a proposed residential subdivision (Sage Canyon) brought out several interested residents to speak for/or against the development. After residents spoke, Council discussed the issue, and then approved it.

The selection of a new Police Chief caused concern from several in the community. A public forum was held where residents were asked to identify the desired characteristics and qualities of a candidate. A show of hands felt the decision had been made already prior to the meeting. Council selected one of their own without interviewing anyone from the outside. The new Chief was local and had been on the force for 33 years. On January 1, 2017, he was appointed to succeed the retiring Chief.

Regarding speakers during Open/Public Comment, some speakers speak longer than others. At times, a speaker will get into "back and forth" conversation with the Council, and that has led to arguments at the podium. The Agenda does not list a time limit for speakers. It only states "...the Mayor reserves the right to place limits on duration of comments."

Council claims to have weathered the recent recession by "belt tightening" and not replacing those retiring, and dipping into the reserves only once.

The ease in accessing the Council agenda and minutes has improved.

This past March was La Verne's first election to be conducted by the County. It was also the first time for the eight-year Mayor to be challenged. He was challenged by a first-term council member. After several days of up and down leads for both candidates, the incumbent retained his seat by seven votes. Based on the official canvass, Mayor Kendrick was elected for a two-year term; Council Members Robin Carder and Muir Davis for four-year terms. Continuing are Mayor Pro Tem Tim Hepburn and member Charlie Rosales.