league@lwvmissouri.org \* www.lwvmissouri.org

## LWV Congressional Bulletin January 31, 2020

On January 27, 2020, Virginia became the 38th state to ratify the Equal Rights Amendment which prohibits discrimination based on sex

314-961-6869

The ERA has now fulfilled the requirements of Article V of the Constitution to become an amendment. It is quite serendipitous for this to be culminating one hundred years after the 19th Amendment.

However, the *time limit* set by Congress for ratification by the states has passed. **Now we must contact members of the Congress to extend the deadline**.

There is a joint resolution now under consideration by both the House and the Senate. We expect the House will vote on it first and then it will go to the Senate.

HJR Res 79 and SJR Res 6 remove the deadline for the ratification of the ERA. The amendment was proposed to the states in House Joint Resolution 208 of the 92nd Congress, as agreed to in the Senate on March 22, 1972. The amendment shall be part of the Constitution whenever ratified by the legislatures of three-fourths of the states.

It is the opinion of many legal scholars that the time limit is not part of the amendment itself and therefore does not impact ratification. Congress voted to extend the time limit in 1979 so it can vote on the time limit again, this time to remove it, which would remove any question about the validity of the amendment.

The U.S. House of Representatives will vote on HJ Res 79 to remove any time limit on ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment the week of February 10, 2020. SJR Res 6 is the Senate version of the same bill.

Please contact your House member as well as Senators Blunt and Hawley and ask them to vote to eliminate the deadline.

U.S. SENATE – (202) 224-3121 Senator Roy Blunt (R) – 202-224-5721, 314-725-4484 260 Russell Senate Office Bldg, Washington, DC 20510 https://www.blunt.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact-roy **Senator Josh Hawley** (R) -202-224-6154, 816-960-4694 B40A Dirksen Senate Office Bldg., Washington, DC 20510 https://www.hawley.senate.gov/contact-senator-hawley

**U.S. CONGRESS** – (202) 224-3121 Washington, DC 20515

1st District: **William Lacy Clay** (D) – 202-225-2406 2428 Rayburn House Office Building http://www.lacyclay.house.gov

2nd District: **Ann Wagner** (R) – 202-225-1621 2350 Rayburn House Office Building http://www.wagner.house.gov

3rd District: **Blaine Luetkemeyer** (R) – 202-225-2956 2230 Rayburn House Office Building <a href="http://www.luetkemeyer.house.gov">http://www.luetkemeyer.house.gov</a>

4th District: **Vicky Hartzler** (D) 202-225-2876 2235 Rayburn House Office Building http://www.hartzler.house.gov

5th District: **Emanuel Cleaver** (D) – 202-225-4535 2335 Rayburn House Office Building <a href="http://www.cleaver.house.gov">http://www.cleaver.house.gov</a>

6th District: **Sam Graves** (R) – 202-225-6536 1135 Longworth House Office Building http://www.graves.house.gov

7th District: **Billy Long** (R) – 202-225-6536 2454 Rayburn House Office Building http://www.long.house.gov

8th District: **Jason Smith** (R) – 202-225-4404 2418 Rayburn House Office Building <a href="http://www.jasonsmith.house.gov">http://www.jasonsmith.house.gov</a>