

League of Women Voters of Santa Cruz County Annual Meeting Minutes June 7, 2025

The Annual Meeting was held at the Scotts Valley Branch Public Library in the Fireside Room. President Barbara Lewis gave a welcome to those in attendance. She introduced the two speakers: Kimberly De Serpa, Santa Cruz County Supervisor, Second District and Monica Martinez, Santa Cruz County Supervisor, Fifth District

The speakers each gave a brief history of their personal and family life as well as their interest in local politics. They both discussed their style of leadership and accountability. The presentation was refreshingly casual and audience friendly. There was ample time for a question and answer session after their remarks. The audience appeared to be grateful for their honesty and refreshing views on governance.

The business meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m. by Barbara Lewis.

The Introduction of Parliamentarian was read by Dorothy Fry, Voter Service Coach. It was moved by Pam Peterson and seconded by Laura Grossman that we adopt the meeting rules.

It was determined we had a quorum.

The Program Adoption Rules were read by Dorothy Fry, meeting parliamentarian.

Treasurer's Report: Geri McGillicuddy

Geri gave the May budget report. Pam Peterson, as incoming LWVSCC Treasurer, presented the Proposed Budget for Fiscal Year July 1, 2025- June 30, 2026. There was discussion about the use of ChapterSpot rather than PayPal and there was a suggestion that we increase our Publicity budget to increase our visibility in the community and attract new membership.

Pam Newbury proposed a motion to amend the publicity budget, line item #380, from \$300.00 to \$900.00 in the 2025-2026 budget. The motion was seconded by Jane Cohen; the motion passed.

Kit Hein made a motion to accept the Proposed Budget with the amended amount in line item #380. The motion was seconded by Dorothy Fry. The motion passed.

The following topics were suggested for general meetings in fiscal year 2025-2026:

- 1. Youth Justice
- 2. Issues of equity and education, especially childcare, with a legislative focus.

3. How to improve fire protection through better utilization of volunteer and ad hoc local resources.

4. Tour of Soquel Creek Water District's wastewater recycling facilities for LWVSCC members.

The motion to adopt local program topics was made by Geri McGillicuddy and seconded by Laura Grossman. The motion passed unanimously. The next step is to schedule a calendar planning meeting and establish program dates and venues.

Laura Grossman, a member of the Nominating Committee, presented the nominations for the Board of Directors and Nominating Committee for fiscal year 2025-2026.

OFFICERS:

President	Barbara Lewis
1st Vice President/ VOTER Newsletter Editor	Marilyn Radisch
2nd Vice President/ Membership Chair/ Roster manager	•
Co-Secretaries	
Treasurer	

DIRECTORS:

Co-Program Chairs	Pam Newbury and Mindy Ryan
Publicity Coordinator	
Webmaster	

NOMINATING COMMITTEE:

Members.....Judith Heher, Catherine Rusmore, and Dee Takemoto

Lydia Parker stated a motion to accept the Officers, Directors, and Nominating Committee as proposed above. The motion was seconded by Geri McGillicuddy. The motion passed unanimously.

In addition, the following members have agreed to to serve in positions off-board:

League Telephone	Kathy Van Horn
Voter Service Coach	Dorothy Fry

Respectfully submitted by the 2024-2025 Nominating Committee: Elected Members: Joyce Anderson (Chair), Dee Takemoto, and Sandy Warren Board appointed Members: Laura Grossman, and Marilyn Radisch

The meeting was adjourned at 3:15 p.m.

Lydia Nogales Parker, LWVSCC Secretary