LWVCM ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

June 6, 2019

(These minutes are a compilation of information supplied by Lucille Howard, Cate Stadelman and the President. Because the elected secretary resigned before submitting the minutes, the record of the makers of motions and seconds are not included.)

After registration and a buffet dinner, President Delores Johnson Hurt opened the 2019 Annual Meeting of LWVCM by welcoming 55 League members and their guests in an alternate meeting space in the building as the usual MICC auditorium setting was unavailable. Cheryl Milam, Education Action Team co-chair, then introduced Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools Superintendent, Dr. Clayton Wilcox, who gave the keynote address.

President Hurt called the business meeting to order, followed by verification from Acting Secretary Cate Stadelman that the quorum necessary to conduct business was present. In a unanimous vote, meeting rules as presented were adopted and the minutes of the 2018 Annual Meeting were approved. See attached.

President Hurt presented a 2018-2019 State of the League address. See attached.*

Reports of the officers, directors and action team leaders were presented to the membership by the following: (Reports are attached)

Membership: Margaret Howe-Soper

Education: Cheryl Milam Voter Services: Leta Bosc* Vote411.org: Beth Springston* Civics 101: Tom Murdock

Fair Elections: Debbie Snowdon Environment; Margaret Howe-Soper Women's Issues: Cate Stadelman Treasurer's Report: Beth Springston

John Lee, chair of the budget committee, presented the proposed budget for 2019-20 (attached). The budget of \$28,934.00, \$3,792 higher than the previous year, was approved.

Tom Murdock, Vice President, presented the Program for 2019-20 recommended by the board. It was approved by the membership with the specified the focus areas of:

1) Voter Registration/Education and Fair Elections 2) Passage of ERA Local Environment Public Education: Adequate and timely funding, community equity advisory committee, PreK

expansion, support for public education Healthcare: Emphasis on access and quality care

Tom Bowers, Nominating Committee chair, presented the slate of officers and directors elected for 2019-20. Members approved the following slate:

Officers:

President 2019-2021 **Delores Johnson Hurt**

Secretary 2019-2021 Erin Giardi Treasurer 2019-2020 John Lee

Directors: :

(1) 2019-2021 **Cate Stadelman**

(2) 2019-2021 **Regan Adudell**

(3) 2019-2021 **Kevan Woodson**

4) 2019-2020 (to fill an unexpired term) **Tricia Garcia**

Nominating Committee: 2019-2020 Chair: **Reita Pendry**

Member: **Tom Bowers** Member: **Sylvia Ross**

Continuing for the last year of their terms:

First vice president Tom Murdock 2018-2020; Directors 2018-2020: June White,

Lucille Howard

There were no directions to the board.

Lucille Howard started acknowledgements by noting that the annual meeting date is the 75th anniversary of D-Day.

Fifty-year members attending were introduced, including Carol Rousey, June Kimmel, Thereasea Elder and Ann Wood. Also recognized was Karen Bean who had just stepped down as co-president of the North Carolina League of Women Voters.

Board members concluding their terms were noted, including Marian Silverman, former Voter Services Chair, who has moved to Blacksburg, VA, Margaret Howe-Soper, membership director, and Debbie Snowdon, Communications Director and Fair Elections Action Team Chair.

Special recognition was given to Beth Springston who joined the board in 2002, was co-president 2003-2007, served as secretary, treasurer and Vote411.org director. Beth had moved to Morrisville, VT.