

The League of Women Voters of Santa Cruz County Annual Meeting Minutes Saturday, June 22, 2024 Seascape Golf Club, Aptos, California 95003

Barbara Lewis, President of LWVSCC, welcomed all guests to the Annual Meeting. Stephanie Harlan introduced the Keynote speaker, Lisa Wooninck, Superintendent, Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. The topic of Lisa Wooninck's informative and engaging presentation was "Intro to Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary and Priority Issues". Her presentation was video recorded by Pam Newbury and is available on the LWVSCC website.

Call to order: President Barbara Lewis called the meeting to order at 11:37 a.m.

Board Members and Directors Present: Barbara Lewis, Marilyn Radisch, Geri McGillicuddy, Laura Grossman, Mindy Ryan, Stephanie Harlan, Lydia Nogales Parker

Barbara Lewis introduced Dorothy Fry, the Parliamentarian and Voter Service Chair. Dorothy confirmed there was a quorum at the meeting. Dorothy read the Procedure for Proposed Meeting Rules as stated in Robert's Rules of Order, Newly Revised.

Kit Hein moved that we adopt the meeting rules with a second from Laura Grossman. The motion passed.

Treasurer Geri McGillicuddy delivered the treasurer's report, and Budget Committee Chair Pam Peterson presented the Proposed Budget for Fiscal Year 2024-2025. Geri mentioned that there will be unknowns regarding the dues configuration because of the restructuring of the payment system by LWVUS in 2025. There may be higher costs due to election year programs as well. Kit Hein moved to accept the proposed budget, with a second by Marilyn Radisch. The motion passed.

Barbara Lewis reported that the Board recommends retention of all local program positions based on previous study and consensus. Complete text of the positions may be found under "Positions" on our League's website at lwvscc.org. League members also suggested the following program topics for general meetings in fiscal year 2024-2025: Climate Change and Voting Rights.

Stephanie Harlan moved to accept the proposed program, with a second from Dorothy Fry. The motion passed.

Laura Grossman, Nominating Committee Member, read the slate of nominees for the Board of Directors Officers and Directors for 2024-2025, as well as the members of the Nominating Committee and off-board positions. They are:

OFFICERS

President	Barbara Lewis
1st Vice President/VOTER Newsletter Editor	Marilyn Radisch
2nd Vice President/Membership Chair/ Roster Manager	Laura Grossman

Secretary	Lydia Nogales Parker
Treasurer	Ğeri McĞillicuddy

DIRECTORS

Program Chair	Stephanie Harlan
Publicity Coordinator	Mindy Ryan

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Joyce Anderson (Chair), April Knobloch, and Sandy Warren

Pam Peterson moved we elect the nominees for the Board of Directors and Nominating Committee as presented. The motion was seconded by Stephanie Harlan and passed.

The meeting was adjourned by Barbara Lewis at 11:55 a.m.

Lydia Nogales Parker, LWVSCC Secretary