## VOTER Article – June 5, 2019

## Recap of May 4 Annual Meeting

The League of Women Voters of Dallas held its 81<sup>st</sup> Annual meeting on Saturday, May 4, 2019, at The Edgemere. These are the highlights:

Budget – Approved to maintain the membership dues at \$75 for an individual. Staff time was reduced to 20 hours per week in order to avoid withdrawals from reserves. Staff salary was the largest expense for the League. The Budget report can be found on page 11 of the Workbook.

Bylaws – Proposed bylaws amendments were approved with the exception of the Quorum which was changed to "Ten percent of the voting members present shall constitute a quorum at the annual meeting of the membership." The Proposed Bylaws Amendments are on pages 12 to 15 of the Workbook.

Pat Vaughan Legacy Fund – Approved the proposal to establish a dedicated fund for voter education, outreach and services in honor of Pat Vaughan, a Past President who passed away in January 2019. More details of the Pat Vaughan Legacy Fund are on page 19 of the Workbook.

Program Report – Diane Tasian, VP of Program listed their accomplishments <u>on pages</u> 35-36 of the Workbook.

Voter Outreach Report – Elizabeth Walley and her team had an outstanding year. Their accomplishments are listed on pages 37-42 of the Workbook.

Nominating Committee Report – The proposed slate of Board of Directors was approved as presented. The new President is Diane Tasian. Her team is listed on page 22 of the Workbook.

Awards – Full report is on pages 29-33.

- 50-Yr members: Terry Casey, Julie & Michael Lowenberg
- President's Meritorious Service Award was given to Rebecca Acuña and Lisa Sherrod.
- Myrtle Bales Bulkley Award was presented to Miriam Foshay.
- Virginia Macdonald Leadership Award was presented to Diane Tasian.

Outgoing Board Members – Three members were recognized for their outstanding service on the Board of Directors: Dorie Cranshaw, Katherine McGovern and Elizabeth Walley.

Submitted by Cecilia McKay