

OCTOBER 15, 2021

MAKING DEMOCRACY WORK IN SC: NAACP AND ACLU LAWSUIT AND SENATE REDISTRICTING MEETING ON MAPS

## **Redistricting Lawsuit**

Civil rights groups have filed a federal lawsuit challenging the South Carolina Legislature's delay in drawing new redistricting maps. Although redistricting work was begun by the Senate at an encouraging pace, it has since become apparent that the overall process in the General Assembly may be unnecessarily delayed, causing problems adversely affecting both candidates and voters in the 2022 elections. This lawsuit has been brought on behalf of the South Carolina State Conference of the NAACP and individual voters, who are represented by the NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund, Inc. (LDF), the American Civil Liberties Union, the ACLU of South Carolina, Boroughs Bryant LLC, and Arnold & Porter. Further information on this suit including a link to the full complaint is posted at https://www.naacpldf.org/pressrelease/civil-rights-groups-file-federal-lawsuit-over-south-carolinaredistricting-failures/

Senate Maps

The Senate Judiciary Committee's Redistricting Subcommittee will meet on Thursday, October 21, 2021, at 12:00 p.m. in Room 308 of the Gressette Building. The purpose of this meeting is to receive public testimony about submitted plans to them by external organizations. The Senate has also posted maps of Senate districts at <u>https://redistricting.scsenate.gov/plansubmission.html</u>. Maps have been submitted by Elias Valentin for Blue Dot sC, John Kraljevich for the York County Democratic Party, John Sukovich for Newberry County Democrats, Leah Aden for the NAACP LDF, Lynn Teague for LWVSC, Michael Roberts, and Teresa Harper for the Aiken County Democratic Party.

Questions should be directed to subcommittee staff, including Michelle McGee at 803 212-6634 and MichelleMcGee@scsenate.gov.

Further information on the meeting and arrangements for testimony is included in the press release attached below.

Lynn

Lynn Shuler Teague VP for Issues and Action, LWVSC

## Senate Judiciary Committee

