Sponsorship Opportunities

Sponsorship Opportunities

Texas Flag with Mission Empowering Voters! Defending Democracy!

Empowering voters and defending democracy in Texas takes a lot of work and energy from our incredibly dedicated volunteers. It also takes money! Please consider donating at a sponsorship level to support our mission.

Minnie Fisher Cunningham photo$10,000 Minnie Fisher Cunningham

Minnie Fisher Cunningham was the first executive secretary of the League of Women Voters, and a suffrage politician who worked for the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, giving women the right to vote.

  • Name & Logo in the Voters Guide
  • Name & Logo on LWVTX website 
  • Recognition and a full page ad in the program for the making Democracy Work Dinner

Jovita Idar Photo$5,000 Jovita Idar

Jovita Idár was an American journalist, political activist and civil rights worker, born in Laredo, Texas in 1885. Idár strove to advance the civil rights of Mexican-Americans. She was elected president of the Liga Femenil Mexicanista in Laredo and organized at El Primer Congreso Mexicanista, the first statewide Mexican American civil rights meeting.

  • Name and Logo in the Voters Guide
  • Name and Logo on LWTX website 
  • A full-page ad in the program at the Making Democracy Work Dinner.

Jane McCallum photo$2,500 Jane McCallum

Jane Y. McCallum was a suffragist leader and Texas Secretary of State. She was a pioneer sheriff of Wilson County in the late 1870s and early 1880s. She organized the Joint Legislative Council, called the "Petticoat Lobby" which was one of Texas' most successful public interest lobbies. The Petticoat Lobby combined the efforts of women's groups to drive progressive legislation through the Texas Legislature. The Women's Suffrage Association elected her president and she also headed publicity efforts for the League of Women Voters of Texas and served as the first vice president of the League.

  • Name and logo in the Voters Guide
  • Name and logo on LWVTX website 
  • A half-page ad in the program at the Making Democracy Work Dinner.

Christia Adair photo$1,000 Christia Adair

Christia Adair, an NAACP leader from Houston, worked for full suffrage and was one of the first black women to vote in a Democratic primary after the Supreme Court struck down Texas' white primary law in 1944. As executive secretary of the Houston NAACP for 12 years, she and others desegregated the Houston airport, public libraries, city buses, and department store dressing rooms. Despite official harassment, Adair and others rebuilt the Houston NAACP chapter, which grew to 10,000 members.

  • Name and logo in the Voters Guide 
  • Name in the program at the Making Democracy Work Dinner  

Oveta Culp Hobby photo$500 Oveta Culp Hobby

League of Women Voters of Texas president, Oveta Culp Hobby was the first Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare, first Director of the Women's Army Corps, and a Chairperson of the Board of the Houston Post. Her husband, William Hobby, was the Texas Governor who signed the law allowing women in Texas to vote in a primary election.

  • Name and logo in the Voters Guide
  • Name in the program at the Making Democracy Work Dinner

$250 Irma Lerma Rangel

Irma Rangel was an educator, attorney, and politician. In 1976 she ran successfully for a seat in the Texas House of Representatives and became the first Mexican American woman elected to the Legislature. Rangel co-authored House Bill 588 with Senator Gonzalo Barrientos. Commonly referred to as the "Top Ten Percent Plan," the law required that all public colleges and universities in Texas automatically admit students who graduated in the top ten percent of their high school class allowing thousands of students access to quality higher education.

  • Name in the Voters Guide
  • name in the program in the Making Democracy Work Dinner