State Board of Directors

Elaine Wiant, President/LWV-TEF Chair (Dallas)

Elaine Wiant photo

Elaine Wiant is serving her second term as President. She returned to the Texas board in 2014 after serving as LWV-TX Treasurer (1997-2003), and Director (2003-06). She was on the LWVUS Board from 2006-12, serving 4 years as Secretary/Treasurer. She served for 12 years on the LWVUS Budget Committee (2004 - 2016), including 2 years as the Budget Chair (2012 - 2014). In her professional life, Wiant is Fellow of the Society of Actuaries, a Certified Fraud Examiner and a licensed private investigator. She provides financial investigations in complex litigation cases after allegations of fraud and mismanagement.


Grace Chimene, Vice President (Austin Area)

Grace Chimene photo

Chimene is a registered nurse who has long been active in health care issues in Texas. She coordinates advocacy for the LWV-TX and assists with communications such as social media, YouTube videos, and other technology in order to Make Democracy Work® in Texas!




Elizabeth Erkel, Vice President (Plano/Collin County)

Elizabeth Erkel photo

Erkel taught public health nursing and related courses and held nursing administration positions in schools of nursing in Texas and South Carolina for 34 years, retiring in 2009. She has been a member of the League since 1983 and is past president of LWV Collin County.




Margaret (Peggy) Hill, Vice President (Bay Area)

Margaret Hill photo

Hill joined the League of Women Voters in 1973 in Richardson, Texas where she became President. In Houston she joined LWV Houston Area serving on the Board as a Unit Chair and Chairperson for Election Central and Education. She later served on the LWVUS Board of Directors co-chairing the National Education Study and as a National Coach-Shur Fellow working with Arizona and California Leagues. She served four years on the LWVTX Board of Directors and chaired the Services to Local Leagues. She is currently a member of the LWV Bay Area. Dr. Hill, now retired, chaired the Language and Literacy Department and directed the National Writing Project site at University of Houston-Clear Lake for 20 years.


Nancy Parra, Vice President (Houston Area)

Nancy Parra photo

Parra has served one term as Director of Voters Service. She was on the Citizen Education/ Advocacy committee, and was chair of the Long Range Planning committee. She is a past president of LWV-Houston Area. Nancy represents the League on the Galveston Bay Council, which guides the Galveston Bay Estuary Program, and serves as chairman of the Council's Public Participation and Education subcommittee. Nancy worked in the software industry for over fifteen years, retiring from BMC Software. Before that she had a career as a university professor. She holds a Master's and Ph.D. in Literature and has taught at the University of Illinois Chicago, Louisiana State University, the National University of El Salvador and Florida Atlantic University.


Miriam Foshay Treasurer (Dallas)

Miriam Foshay photo

Miriam Foshay is serving her third term on the state board and her second term as treasurer. A current member of the Dallas League, she has been a League member for over 30 years. Prior to moving to Texas, she joined the Naperville League and worked as business manager for their recycling center, developing it from a $25,000/year drop-off center to a business grossing over $1M/year with 29 employees. A PhD chemist, Foshay has worked in environmental consulting and biochemistry research. She is an Enrolled Agent and has worked as a tax preparer for the last eight years.


Marguerite Scott-Johnson, Secretary (The Hill Country)

Marguerite Scott-Johnson photo

Marguerite "Meg" Scott-Johnson is a longtime member of the League in Kerrville, now named LWV-Hill Country. She served as president for two terms, as well as several years as Voters Service Chair, and Chair of the local Immigration Issues Study. For LWV-Texas, she served on the Human Trafficking Issues Study Committee and is currently the Issue Chair for Human Trafficking. Scott-Johnson is a LCSW in private practice in Kerrville. She is a member of the Presbyterian Disaster Assistance National Response Team, currently serving on the Refugee Ministry Team. To keep herself grounded, Meg is a Hill Country Master Gardner.


Connie Born (Comal Area)

Connie Born photo

Connie Born joined the League of Women Voters in the Comal Area in 2013. She served as the Director of Membership, and in 2015, as Chairperson of the Payday and Auto Title Loans in Texas Study. Born is a registered medical technologist with a specialty in blood banking and certification as a Quality Auditor. She managed clinical laboratories, quality assurance/training departments and conducted quality and regulatory audits for 35 years before retiring in 2012. She holds a Master of Public Administration and has served as an adjunct faculty instructor at Creighton University.


Amber Briggle (Denton)

Amber Briggle photo

Amber Briggle is a small business owner. She serves on the Denton Planning & Zoning Commission. She served on the LWV-Denton board, but stepped down to run an unsuccessful bid for the Denton City Council in 2015. Briggle is also a dedicated advocate for the Denton Fracking Ban and transgender rights.




Marlene Lobberecht (Houston Area)

Marlene  Lobberecht photo

Marlene Lobberecht is a Child/Family Life professional, contributing textbook author and is a consultant, coaching non-profits. She taught for 34 years at the secondary and college level. She authored the Texas Advocacy Playbook, a free advocacy eBook, and provides advocacy training to Texas community groups and coalitions. She has served on the LWV-Houston Area board of directors and organized a new League unit in Cy-Fair, TX. Since 2007, Lobberecht has also served as the LWV-TX Early Childhood Issue Chair.



Susan Morrison, (Austin Area)

Susan Morrison photo

Morrison is an attorney and is serving her second term as Director. She serves as Chair of the Development & Marketing committee and on the Policy/Bylaws/Rules committee. She served on the Austin Area LWV Board, was the Voter's Guide Editor and has been a Voter Registrar for many years. Susan brings over thirty years of experience in personnel law, education law, constitutional law and ethics expertise to the Texas LWV Board. She is an experienced harassment prevention trainer and investigator as well as an expert in religious rights, free speech & other civil rights matters. She currently serves as general counsel to governmental entities for employment matters, construction contracts, open meetings and public information, grievances, student discipline, special education, and other matters before the TEA, TWC, EEOC and the courts. Susan worked with the League for five years to pass the legislation and constitutional amendment allowing for garnishment of wages for child support in Texas, which voters approved in 1983.

Carol Olewin (Austin Area)

Carol Olewin photo

Carol Olewin served on the LWV-Austin board for 9 years, 7 as Treasurer, and 3 as Co-president and President. In addition to the LWV, Carol has served on various Boards and Commissions, recently serving on the City of Austin Flood Mitigation task force. Olewin retired from the Texas Racing Commission as the Pari-mutuel Compliance Audit Administrator. Some photographs provided by Matt Lankes