Candidate Forum

Candidate Forum

voter buttons


UNM - Los Alamos
4000 University Dr., Lecture Hall in Bldg. 2
Los Alamos New Mexico 87544
New Mexico US
Thursday, October 3, 2019 - 6:30pm

The League of Women Voters Los Alamos will hold a forum for candidates running for the Los Alamos Public School (LAPS) Board/Bond Question and the University of New Mexico-Los Alamos (UNM-LA) Advisory Board. Come at 6:30 p.m. for refreshments.

The forum will begin at 7 p.m.with LAPS Superintendent Kurt Steinhaus who will explain the school bond question

LAPS Board Candidates:

  • Position 3 (District 3 Aspen Elementary): Morrie Pongratz, Christine Bernstein;
  • Position 4 (District 4 Barranca Elementary & Middle School): Julia Baker, Melanie Colgan; and
  • Position 5 (District 5 Mountain Elementary and High School): Dawn Jalbert.

 All three school districts are in the Los Alamos townsite.

 All positions are four-year terms.

UNM-LA Advisory Board Candidates:

  • Position 3: Patrick Soran, Laura Burrows, David Hampton; and
  • Position 4: Stephen Boerigter, Christopher Luchini.

All County residents can vote for all positions.

Election Day is Nov. 5; early voting begins Oct. 8 in the Los Alamos County Municipal Building.