Democracy Works Award

Democracy Works Award

2018 Award RecipientsAbout the Award | Past Award Recipients

And The 2018 Winner Is...

YOLO NEIGHBORHOOD COURT, Democracy Works Award recipient 2018

YOLO NEIGHBORHOOD COURT A program of the Yolo County District Attorney

The mission of the neighborhood court is to seek justice, and do justice by pursuing alternative solutions to criminal offenses that cause harm to the local community through resolutions that are individualized, educational, and restorative to the victim, community, and participant.

Yolo County was the second county in California to implement a program built on the principles of restorative justice (after San Francisco). Read more about restorative justice in Yolo County here.

Please join us to honor the people behind this effective program.

  • Democracy Works Dinner
  • 6 pm October 25
  • Kitchen 428 - upstairs 3rd floor 428 First St., Woodland
  • Tickets are $25 buffet dinner. Call Laura at 668-0345 to reserve your seat by Oct. 15.

About the Award

Since 2006, this award has been given annually to honor an individual or organization in our community that promotes the spirit of democracy in Woodland. We seek nominees who by their positive actions have furthered the democratic process in tangible ways, thus keeping democracy working for residents in our community. "Democracy" is defined as "a form of government, where a constitution guarantees basic personal and political rights, fair and free elections, and independent courts of law."

To nominate someone for this honor, please send a completed Microsoft Office document iconnomination form, identifying why you think a specific person or organization exemplifies democracy in action in Woodland to League of Women Voters of Woodland, P.O. Box 2463, Woodland, CA 95776 or by email to league [at] Please call Judy Simas if you have any questions at 662-1343. League members are strongly encouraged to submit nominations.

Past Award Recipients

Pat Murray Democracy Works Award recipient 2015

2015: Pat Murray for her decades of making democracy and community work in Woodland and Yolo County. Pat served on the Woodland Planning Commission for 15 years, and as co-president of the League of Women Voters of Woodland for 4 terms. She is a 20 year board member, leader and active participant of the Woodland Library Rose Club, and has almost 3 decades of volunteer service at the UCD Arboretum to her credit. She has served on the Woodland Tree Foundation board since its inception, and served as a board member of the Yolo Wayfarer Center (aka Fourth & Hope).

Jenny Lillge, Democracy Works Award recipient 2014

2014: Jenny Lillge for starting a petition called "Choose 4000" to involve Woodlanders in the discussion of growth in Woodland during the early stages of the General Plan update in 2014. The number 4000 refers to the growth figure recommended by the independent consultants hired by the City. The "Choose 4000" petition received nearly 600 signatures and comments of support in a few short weeks. As a result, the City Council voted to include a second scenario for 4,000 units as originally recommended (the 9,000 unit proposal is still being studied).

2013: Marco Lizzaraga for his many years of work for fair and free elections and serving on re-districting committees for the county, city and schools; The Woodland Tree Foundation for their urban tree planting and education efforts; Bj Ford for her long time and outstanding work as a community activist and charter member of the Woodland LWV.

2012: The Woodland City Council for their on going effort to begin to bring a reliable and clean water supply to Woodland with the formation of the Woodland Davis Clean Water Agency; and to Sylvina Frausto for her past and ongoing effort to better the lives of all families in Woodland but especially Latino families.

2011: Leslie Marcus for her lifetime of activism in Woodland; and the Daily Democrat for offering a forum for debate that only a newspaper can do, and being an important element in local democracy in Woodland.

2010: The Veterans Project: Erica Chung & Mike Owens, Woodland High School teachers, and Al Castillo, American Legion Post 77 Commander, for their joint effort in connecting high school students with veterans to hear their stories.

2009: Jim Durst and Fritz Durst, partners in the Durst Organic Farms for their commitment to sustainable farming practices and their generosity in feeding the hungry of Yolo County.

2008: Audrey Doehne for dedication to peace and foreign policy education. For the past 7 years, under her leadership, a group of citizens have made it their responsibility and duty to attend a midday peace vigil in front of the Yolo County Courthouse every 4th Saturday of each month.

2007: Michael V. Brady for his proactive and positive approach as chairperson of the City of Woodland's "Green Waste Citizen Advisory Committee.

2006: Woodlanders for Responsible Government for their work in promoting the spirit of democracy by taking positive action to promote the democratic process for citizens of Woodland.