Town of Christianburg

Christiansburg has an area of 14,144 square miles and a population of approximately 22,000 (2015 census). It is the county seat.

Municipal Building, 100 East Main Street, 24073 382-6128
Fax numbers:
Municipal Building-Town Manager (540) 382-7338
Treasurer (540) 382-3762
Engineer, Planning, Building Inspectors (540) 381-7238

Town Council

Town Council meetings are held the second and fourth Tuesdays each month, 7:00 p.m., in the Municipal Building, and are open to the public. Meetings are televised on Channel 190, Shentel.

Mayor D. Michael Barber

mbarber [at]
Term expires 12/31/2021

Vice Mayor Steve Huppert

shuppert [at]

Term expires 12/31/2021

Council Members email address Phone Number Term Ends
Samuel H. Bishop hcollins [at] 382-5521 2021
Harry Collins
hcollins [at] 381-0707 2019
Henry Showalter hshowalter [at] 449-1749 2019
Merissa M. Sachs msachs [at] 257-0158 2021
Bradford J. "Brad" Stipes bstipes [at] 381-0784 2021


Municipal Building, 100 East Main Street, 24073, 540-382-6128
Title Name Phone Number (area code 540)
Town Manager Randy Wingfield 382-6128 x1119
Assistant Town Manager Andrew Warren 382-6128 x1130
Assistant to the Town Manager Adam Carpenetti 382- 6128 x1163
Executive Asst. to the Town Manager Tracy Heinline 382-6120 x1114
Director of Engineering & Special Projects Wayne O. Nelson 382-6120 x1147
Clerk of Council Michele Stipes 382-6128
Attorney Guynn & Waddell, P.C. 387-2320
Chief Financial Officer Valerie Tweedie 382-6128 x1123
Aquatics Director Terry Caldwell 381-7665 x3102
Building Official Jerry Heinline 382-6120 x1152
Building Inspectors Joey Penca 382-6120 x1186
  William Yager 382-6120 x1181
Fire Department Chief / Marshall Billy Hanks 382-4388
Human Resources Director Dave Brahmstadt 382-6128 x1148
Parks & Recreation Director Brad Epperley 382-2349 x2001
Planning Director Will Drake 382-6120 x1117
Police Chief Mark Sisson 382-3131 x302
Public Relations Director Melissa Powell 382-6128 x1150   
Public Works Director Jim Lancianese 382-1151 x6002   
Rescue Squad Captain Joe Coyle 382-9131 x4000
Waste Treatment Plant Supt. Ryan Hendrix 382-8221
Planning Commission, Chair Jennifer Sowers 382-6128
Recreation Commission, Chair Diane Fenton contact bepperley [at]" target="_blank">Brad Epperley with questions
Board of Zoning Appeals, Chair James Stewart contact awarren [at] (Andrew Warren) with questions
Aquatic Advisory Board Chair Jeremy Williams contact tlcaldwell [at]" target="_self">Terry Caldwell with questions

Christiansburg Planning Commission

Jennifer Sowers, Chair, jsowers [at]

Taxes & Licenses

See tax rates at
Please visit for more information.