The School District extends county-wide and includes the two towns of Blacksburg and Christiansburg. The District serves approximately 9,600 students in 20 schools. Full-day kindergarten is provided.


School Board

School Board members are elected for staggered four-year terms that begin January 1 and end December 31. The School Board meets the first and third Tuesdays each month at 7:00 pm at the School Board Office, County Government Center, 755 Roanoke St., Christiansburg.

School board districts are the same as the districts for Montgomery County Supervisors (see district maps).

Superintendent of Schools

Mark Miear

Email Address: markmiear [at]
Phone Number: 382-5104


District Board Members Email Address Phone Number Term Ends
A Gunin Kiran, Chair  guninkiran [at] (540) 392-2582 2021
B Penny Franklin  pfranklin [at] (540) 382-2310 2019
C Dana Partin  danapartin [at] (540) 558-8568 2021
D Jamie M. Bond  jbond [at] (540) 392-9446 2021
E Marti Graham  martigraham [at] (540) 552-2188 2019
F Connie Froggatt, Vice Chair conniefroggatt [at] (540) 818-9340 2019
G Mark Cherbaka markcherbaka [at] (540) 250-1970 2019