Town of Blacksburg

Blacksburg has an area of 19.4 square miles and a population of approximately 45,000 (2015 census). The town is home to Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Website: http://www.blacksburg.gov

Town council meetings are held the second and fourth Tuesdays each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Blacksburg Municipal Building, 300 S. Main Street. Meetings are open to the public. They are broadcast on WTOB, Channel 2.

Town Council

Name Name Phone Email Term Expires
Mayor Leslie Hager-Smith (540) 552-0698 lhagersmith [at] blacksburg.gov 12/31/21
Vice Mayor Susan Anderson (540) 951-2013 sanderson [at] blacksburg.gov 12/31/21
Council Member John Bush (540) 951-5116 jbush [at] blacksburg.gov 12/31/19
Council Member Lauren Colliver (540) 316-7419 lcolliver [at] blacksburg.gov 12/31/21
Council Member Jerry Ford, Jr. (540) 951-7978 jford [at] blacksburg.gov 12/31/18
Council Member Susan Mattingly (540) 230-4383 smattingly [at] blacksburg.gov 12/31/21
Council Member Michael Sutphin (540) 257-4951 msutphin [at] blacksburg.gov 12/31/19

Administration

Name Name Phone
Town Manager Marc Verniel (540) 443-1005
Executive Assistant Rebekah Corso (540) 443-1006
Deputy Mgr. Operations Steven Ross (540) 443-1005
Deputy Mgr. Community Development Chris Lawrence (540) 443-1005
Town Clerk Donna Boone-Caldwell (540) 443-1026
Attorney Lawrence Spencer (540) 443-1016
Blacksburg Transit Tom Fox (540) 443-1500
Community Relations Heather Browning (540) 443-1090
Engineering and GIS Randy Formica (540) 443-1300
Financial Services Susan Kaiser (540) 443-1050
Fire Department Chief Bobby Carner (540) 558-0762
Housing/Neighborhood Services Matt Hanratty (540) 443-1610
Human Resources Elaine Gill (540) 443-1020
Planning and Building Anne McClung (540) 443-1300
Police Chief Anthony Wilson (540) 443-1400
Public Works Kelly Mattingly (540) 443-1200
Parks and Recreation Dean Crane (540) 443-1100
Rescue Squad Chief David English (540) 443-1631
Technology Steve Jones (540) 443-1040