LWV Newport County

LWV Newport County

Newport logo

The LWV Newport County serves the city of Newport and the towns of Jamestown, Little Compton, Middletown, Portsmouth and Tiverton. Contact Susan Wells at swells229 [at] yahoo.com for more information.

The LWV Newport County holds regular meetings on topics pertinent to the community and the country. During election years, candidate forums are also held.


2020 LWV Newport County Annual Meeting


Why They Marched: Celebrating the Centennial of Women's Suffrage:

More than 175 people gathered in a Salve Regina University lecture hall Tuesday evening, March 3, 2020 to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment that guaranteed women's constitutional right to vote.

They came to hear about the long struggle that it took to reach that milestone from Susan Ware, author of Why They Marched: Untold Stories of the Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote.

Salve's Pell Center for International Relations and Public Policy and the Newport County League of Women Voters invited Ware to the centennial celebration.

Dr. James Ludes, the Pell Center's executive director, moderated the discussion that included many questions from the audience.


The League of Women Voters of Newport County is seeking applications for the eighth annual Joan C. Arnold Civic Participation Award. Joan C. Arnold was a long-time member of the League, who also served in many other organizations in the community and in the town of Middletown. This award honors those who exhibit the same persistence as Joan in bringing relief to those in need or improving the quality of life in Newport County.

"Joan Arnold believed in her power to make a difference in the world," notes Susan Wells, president of the League of Women Voters of Newport County. "If she saw a need and felt she had skills to offer to help, she would step forward. Joan was indefatigable. After her death the League wanted her legacy to continue and so with the blessing of the Arnold family, we established this award."

The award winner is chosen from nominations sent by community members. The recipient must be a resident or work in Newport County (which includes Jamestown, Little Compton, Middletown, Newport, Portsmouth, and Tiverton). The award will be given to either a single individual or an organization or group. The deadline for applications is April 1, 2020 and the award will be announced in May.

The application is available here or by contacting Susan Wells at 401-846-9537 or swells229 [at] yahoo.com

Some of the recent Arnold Award recipients include Loren Deveau, coordinator of the Child and Family Services Adopt a Family holiday program, and Hank Kniskern of Newport, for his many contributions to the Newport Public Schools and other local organizations.

Three members of the League of Women Voters of Newport County and a member of the Arnold family will serve on the awards committee.

There will be a wine and cheese event to honor the winner(s). All proceeds will go to further the work of the League of Women Voters that meant so much to Joan through out her life.


Would you like to participate in the League's voter service activities? Each election season, the League works hard to register voters and hold forums to help citizens make important election decisions. As election 2020 nears, check these pages to learn how you can help or contact

This page is related to which committees: 
LWVRI - Newport County