General Election November 3, 2020

Register by October 5, 2020

Click here to Register to Vote or Change Party Affiliation

Request Vote-by-Mail Ballot by October 24, 2020



Election and Voting Information
Lee County Supervisor of Elections
239-LEE-VOTE (239-533-8683)



Voters' Guide to Lee County Candidates

includes Virtual Candidate Forums

hosted by the League of Women Voters of Lee County Florida

in partnership with the Alliance for the Arts

Voting is Fundamental to our Democracy
Vote Safely, Securely, Informed and Early

Register by October 5, 2020


Request Vote-by-Mail Ballot Now.  Verify your mailing address, ballots will not be forwarded.  The Lee County Supervisor of Elections will mail Vote-by-Mail ballots to voters about 35 days before the election.

Vote Timely.  Vote-By-Mail Ballots must be received by election day. 

Sign and date the ballot envelope after sealing. Your signature must match your registration signature.

Track Your Ballot  Assure your ballot is received and counted.  Any issues contact the Supervisor of Elections immediately: 239-533-8683,

Hand-carry and deposit Vote-by-Mail ballots in the Lee County Supervisor of Elections’ secure drop boxes.  Verify sites and times:  239-533-8683,  or mail as soon as you can.

Early Voting:  October 19, 2020 to October 31, 2020.

November 3, 2020 Vote in-person or drop off Vote-By-Mail Ballot at Supervisor of Election sites. Verify sites: 239-533-8683,

If you decide to vote in person, you may surrender your Vote-by-Mail ballot and vote in person. 

Contact the Lee County Supervisor of Elections, 239-533-8683, for voting and registration information, and to verify sites and times for secure drop boxes and voting.

ELECTION PROTECTION HOTLINES  for voting issues and problems, contact:

1-866-OUR-VOTE (866-687-8683) 

1-888-VE-Y-VOTA (en Español) (1-888-839-8682)

1-800-342-0823 Disability Rights Florida

1-877-My-VOTE-0 (1-877-698-6830) Florida Rights Restoration









League of Women Voters of Florida Election Information



During the steps of becoming a Florida resident, you will be given the opportunity to register to vote when getting a driver’s license or state-issued photo identification. You can also receive a voter’s registration application at any Lee County Public Library, Post Office, Election Office or download the form from After completing the application, signing and submitting it to the Supervisor of Elections, you will receive your voter’s registration card in the mail. As of October 1, 2017, online registration is available at In order to vote, you must be registered 29 days before an upcoming election.

All registered voters are encouraged to obtain a Mail-in Ballot which allows time to examine the candidates and issues. No reason needs to be given to request a Mail-in Ballot, simply contact the Supervisor of Elections at 239.533-8683 or online at www.leevote.

Florida has a closed primary that does not allow a voter to cross party lines in selecting a choice from among candidates running for a particular office in the primary, unless there are no other candidates running in the general election. Changing political party affiliation requires updating a new voter registration application.

Lee County Offices Lee County is governed by five members of the Board of County Commissioners who are elected for four-year staggered terms by the countywide electorate. They represent designated districts even though voting is done at-large, meaning countywide.

The School Board for the District of Lee County sets policy for the public schools throughout the county and appoints the Superintendent of Schools. The seven-person nonpartisan Board is elected to serve four-year terms. Five members represent single-member districts and are elected by voters from within that district. Two members are elected at-large.

Nonpartisan elections for four-year terms are held for the following countywide public offices:

Clerk of Courts – (responsible for the maintenance of all property, civil and criminal records, and auditing all county departments except the school district.)

County Court Judges – Hospital Board –

Mosquito Board – Property Appraiser –

Supervisor of Elections –

Tax Collector –

Lee County Sheriff is a partisan election held every four years –

There are six cities within Lee County, each city has non-partisan City Councils that are chosen every two years. Local election dates are posted on

City of Bonita Springs –

Cape Coral –

Village of Estero –

City of Fort Myers -

The Town of Fort Myers Beach -


Lee County and neighboring Hendry, Glades, and Charlotte counties form the Twentieth Judicial Circuit. Every four years voters in those counties elect:

State Attorney –

Public Defender –

Circuit Court Judges – The best way to get to know Lee County is by participating in a free program called,

LeeGROWS. . It is a government resource and orientation workshop series.