Good Government Award 

(Formerly:The Edith L. Stunkel Good Government Award)

Nominees should be individuals who have shown creativity, persistence, and leadership. These individuals have expanded our understanding and awareness of the importance of good citizenship, good government and our sense of community. See below for eligibility and evaluation criteria. Please note that prior recipients are not considered, though we celebrate their continued efforts.  (List of prior recipients is here.) You may contact us at lwv.manhattanks [at] if you have questions.

You may download and complete one of the following nomination forms. Please email to lwv.manhattanks [at]  or print and mail to League of Women Voters of Manhattan-Riley County at P.O. Box 835, Manhattan, Kansas 66505. Thank you.

File 2021_nomination_-_good_government_award.docx

File 2021_nomination_-_good_government_award_2.pdf

History:The Good Government Award honors the efforts of long-time League member and public servant Edith Stunkel, who worked tirelessly to involve citizens in all levels of government. During her service as a city commissioner and throughout her life, Ms. Stunkel championed the value of informed citizenship, actively encouraged public input and citizen participation in public policy decisions and worked for transparency in government.

Who is Eligible?

  • The nominee must be a current resident of Riley County over age 18 who has devoted considerable time and energy to successfully promoting better government and whose leadership has advanced human dignity or improved the quality of life for the community.


  • The nominee should be an individual who has shown creativity, persistence, and overall leadership, which has expanded our understanding and awareness of the importance of good citizenship, good government and our sense of community.


  • The individual - whether an elected or appointed official or volunteer - typically is noted for writing, speaking, organizing support for government or advising on effective ways to deliver services to the public. This could be accomplished in a variety of ways such as: attempting to increase citizen participation in government; educating the public about an issue; working towards more open government; or involvement in ways that represent principles leading to better decision-making.

Current members of the League of Women Voters Board of Directors are not eligible to be nominated nor are prior recipients of this award. .

Stella Harriss Scholarship Award

The Stella Harriss Scholarship is awarded annually each spring to a non-traditional student at Kansas State University. A non-traditional student is generally defined as one of the following: 25 years of age or older, married, a parent, a veteran, or returning to school after an absence of three or more years. In addition, the student should be seeking to complete a degree program.

The Stella Harriss Scholarship honors the memory of League member and education champion Stella Harriss, who was a chemistry professor at K-State for 36 years. From 1908 to 1915 she was an elementary principal in Fairbury, Nebraska. She received a Bachelor of Science(1917)and Master of Science(1919)in chemistry, foods and nutrition from Kansas State University.

Harriss joined the K-State faculty in 1917 as a chemistry fellow. She became an instructor in 1918 and an assistant professor of chemistry in 1927. Harriss studied vitamin content of baby foods. Data for her doctoral research, "Resolution of Erythro Dihydroxy Butyric Acid," was lost in the fire that destroyed Denison Hall in 1934.

Harriss retired in 1953 and lived in Manhattan to age 103. Her bequest initiated the League's scholarship.

The League appoints a special committee to screen applicants. The scholarship is awarded at our annual meeting in April. 
To begin the process, see the description of the scholarship here (scroll down to League of Women Voters.)  Details to apply are here.