Friend of League Award

Friend of League Award

Stars and Stripes Banner

The Friend of League Award is awarded to a community member or group who assists LWV ABC in achieving our goal of good government.

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

2010's | 2000's | 1990’s


Lori Anderson


Lori Anderson, founder of Transformative Circles for creating a safe environment where people of diverse cultures can come together to gain understanding and build relationships for a stronger community



 Back to Top




Mel Aanerud receiving Friend of League Award 2018


Mel Aanerud - for his portrayal of Will Rogers in our successful community fundraiser, for his support and participation in Observer Corps at Anoka County Board, and forging our civic partnership with Ham Lake Chamber of Commerce.



Back to Top




Leslie Sauer Smith receiving Friend of League Award

Leslie Sauer Smith, QCTV Community Television producer - for her enthusiastic cooperation and community spirit that provides exceptional production of LWV ABC programs that educate and motivate viewers regarding public policy and community involvement. Examples of her work are available on the QCTV website.  



Back to Top



Andover Mayor Julie Trude with LWV ABC President  Jeorgette Knoll


City of Andover - for its continuous support of providing free monthly meeting space and use of council chambers. It also promotes horticultural practices that favor pollinators.



Back to Top




Katherine Lenaburg and LWV ABC President Jeorgette Knoll


Katherine Lenaburg and Quad City Television (QCTV) - for recording LWV ABC discussions and providing a separate listing of the recordings on its website.



Back to Top



John Von Linde


John Vonde Linde - for his outstanding work in improving the Anoka County Park




Back to Top





President Susan Anderson presenting award to Peter Bodley


Peter Bodley, ECM Publishing editor - for the strong support he gave to publicizing our forums and community events



Student Senate of Anoka-Ramsey Community College - for their positive, non-partisan and energetic hosting of the LWV ABC election and public information events


Steve Ericson
Steve Ericson - for helping to keep League in the public eye


No awardee


No awardee


Babcock, Manella, & Klint, attorneys at law - for their faithful financial support


Julie Jones - for spearheading a ten-year effort to restore the Springbrook Nature Center working with cities, a water maintenance organization, state and federal agencies, and the Northtown Shopping Center to get things done

 Back to Top





Elizabeth Shanley - for guiding LWV ABC into the computer age and the World Wide Web (plus helping her Mom get things right)


Amy Altman and Caroline Smith of Integrated Waste Management - for their commitment to Anoka County's residents and keeping homes safe

 Back to Top





Dick Brown - for his constant attention to the environment


No awardee


Irene Meier - who specializes in Anoka County's elections and provides data to the public to our league's benefit


Bernie Steffen - for providing a base for us to raise funds for our future and sound advice on how to get there


Vernon Clapp - for helping us in court and in the environment


Lynda Rodgers
Linda Rodgers - who worked with us to benefit our children's education and future


Jim Hulber - who opened his workplace and his business, World of Natural Health


Sandi Hitch - who made us feel at home at Anoka-Ramsey Community College


Gene Merriam
Gene Merriam - for knowing the political territory and the politicians

 Back to Top





Lyle Bradley
Lyle Bradley - who knew the subjects that drive us and how fast to go

 Back to Top





George Garclavs - who showed us what was under the ground and in the water


Robb Tronson - who introduced us to the bright lights of cable television


Harvey Buchite - who knew the information we needed to be educated in the world


Steve Schmidt 
Steve Schmidt - who helped us find the money we needed to accomplish our goals